Monster Magazines…Then & Now!



 

Imagine, if you will, a world without the internet.  Where information on your favorite horror films and monsters was NOT right at your fingertips.  A time when seeing your favorite monster movies a second time proved more than difficult, it was nearly impossible.  Where would you go to get your fix for horror and monster news?  How would you survive?

Cue The Monster Kids of the 1950s.  Because of their insatiable appetite for all things horror related, their generation helped give birth to the MONSTER MAGAZINE…a one stop spot to get all the monster, horror and creature information you could “axe” for.  How did that inspire a subculture of horror film memorabilia collectors for generations to come?

Slap on your 3D glasses, Boys and Ghouls, as we chat with a first generation Monster Kid, travel back in time to discover the beginnings of the horror movie fan collector and learn the History of Monster Magazines on this episode of 2GuysTalkingHorror.

 

The 2GuysTalkingHorror Podcast Links Bar:
Click Here to Subscribe to This Podcast via iTunes! Subscribe via iTunes | Click Here to Subscribe to this Podcast via RSS! Subscribe via RSS Feed | Click Here to Interact this Podcast on Facebook! Facebook Page | Interact with this Podcast on Twitter!  Twitter PageSubscribe to this Podcast on Stitcher! Stitcher Page

 Click Here to Rate this Podcast on iTunes Now!Rate this Podcast on iTunes!

The ultimate success for every podcaster – is FEEDBACK! Be sure to take just a few minutes to tell the hosts of this podcast what YOU think over at iTunes! It takes only a few minutes but helps the hosts of this program pave the way to future greatness!

Not an iTunes user? No problem! Be sure to check out any of the other many growing podcast directories online to find this and many other podcasts on The 2GuysTalking Podcast Network!

 Housekeeping

— Curious Goods Podcast https://www.2gtdatacore.com/category/curious-goods/

— Predator 2 Perspective Review COMING SOON

Links from this Episode:

— Come Visit 2GuysTalkingHorror’s past episodes https://www.2gtdatacore.com/category/2guystalkinghorror/

— Wyatt Weed http://wyattweed.com/

— Predator https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093773/

— Predator 2 https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0100403/?ref_=tt_sims_tti

— Monster Kid http://monsterkidsonline.com/what-is-a-monsterkid/

— Seduction Of The Innocent https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seduction_of_the_Innocent

— James Warren https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Warren_(publisher)

— Forrest J Ackerman http://www.sf-encyclopedia.com/entry/ackerman_forrest_j

— Famous Monsters Of Filmland https://www.famousmonsters.com/

— Shock Theater https://letterboxd.com/bigdaddywarbuxx/list/shock-theater-the-original-late-night-horror/

— Joe Dante https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001102/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

— Aurora Monster Model Kits https://michtoy-from-the-front.blogspot.com/2016/09/toys-in-attic-aurora-monster-models-of.html

— Monster trading cards http://collectingclassicmonsters.com/movie-memorabilia/monster-trading-cards/classic-monster-trading-cards-youll-die-laughing/

— Our Toying Around episode https://www.2gtdatacore.com/toying-around-a-look-at-horror-toys-and-collectables/

— Zackerly https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Zacherle

— American Scary https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0371530/?ref_=nv_sr_1?ref_=nv_sr_1

— Hammer Studios https://www.hammerfilms.com/

— Svengoolie https://svengoolie.com/

— Joe Bob Briggs https://joebobbriggs.net/

— Shudder https://www.shudder.com/

— Monster Vision https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MonsterVision

— The Last Drive-In https://www.shudder.com/series/watch/the-last-drive-in-with-joe-bob-briggs/4849492?season=1

— Ray Harryhausen https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ray_Harryhausen

— Ray Bradbury https://www.biography.com/writer/ray-bradbury

— Basil Gogos http://churchofhalloween.com/basil-gogos/

— Frank Frazetta http://frankfrazetta.net/

— The Monster Times http://monstermagazinegalleries.blogspot.com/2010/03/monster-times.html

— William K Everson https://www.nyu.edu/projects/wke/

— Fangoria http://mentalfloss.com/article/560144/how-fangoria-magazine-changed-horror-movies

— Tom Savini http://www.savini.com/#!home

— The House That Hammer Built https://peverilpublishing.co.uk/house-that-hammer-built/

— Classic Monsters Of The Movies http://www.classicmonstersofthemovies.com/

Calls to the Audience Inside this Episode:

— What generation Monster Kid are YOU? Share With Us!

— Are/Were YOU a fan/collector of any of the fright mags we listed?? Tell us now!

— Were there any Monster Magazines we missed?  We Want To Know!

— How do YOU ingest horror news?  Tell us now!

Be an Advertiser/Sponsor for This Program!

Get Your Podcast Edited NOW by The Editor Corps! http://editorcorps.comReady to Sponsor THIS Podcast? Click Here to Learn More About Perpetual Advertising Now!

Tell us what you think! It’s never too late to be an advertiser in this podcast, thanks to Perpetual Advertising! Contact us now and learn more about why podcasting allows your advertising dollar to live across millions of future listeners – FOREVER!

The Host of this Program:

Nicholas J. Hearne - The Host of The 2GuysTalkingHorror PodcastNicholas J. Hearne: Blessed with an overactive imagination, Nick spent his early years absorbing as much pop culture as possible. From comic books to television, films, sci-fi, fantasy, horror – if it was great storytelling, he assimilated it! From early adolescence to adulthood, Nick spent his time honing his acting and writing skills, starring on stage and screen across the Midwest. In recent years, Nick has started his own comic book company, Archlight Comics, and is also a founder of Archlight Studios, both with longtime friend Jason Contini, and has become a skilled podcast editor and co-host aboard a number of different podcast efforts.

— Nicholas J. Hearne on Facebook
— Nicholas J. Hearne on LinkedIn
— Nicholas J. Hearne on Twitter
— 2GuysTalking on LinkedIn


Leave a Reply

*